Waterfront Powerboat Programs

Waterfront Powerboat Programs

New York State Boating Safety

Safe Powerboat Handling Package - Drivers Education for BoatersTM

Accelerated Safe Powerboat Handling

Accelerated Safe Powerboat Handling/Safety and Rescue Package

USCG Launch Tender Course

Boat Handling Practice Day

Small Engine Workshop

Private Powerboat Lessons

 

New York State Boating Safety Certificate (BSC)

 

This eight hour course covers safety equipment, safe boat operation, rules of the road, aids to navigation, emergency procedures and rendering assistance, and a host of other areas. This primarily classroom course integrates practical application of all skills using dockside demonstrations and other hands-on methods whenever possible. This course is approved by the National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) and meets the New York State boating safety education requirements. Many insurance companies offer discounts to boat owners who have participated in this type of boating safety course. 

Those born on or after May 1, 1996 will need to complete an approved course in order to operate a mechanically propelled boat. For those born before that date, no course is required. All operators of a personal watercraft (PWC) to need to complete a course, and be at least 14 years of age. NYS Parks Website

 

                       Dates and Times:

BSC 1: Wednesday & Thursday, February 1 & 2, 2017 - 5:30 pm to 9:30 pm

      BSC 2: Saturday, February 18, 2017 - 9:00 am to 6:00 pm

      BSC 3: Wednesday andThursday, March 22 & 23, 2017 - 5:30 pm  to 9:30 pm

      BSC 4: Wednesday and Thursday, September 20 & 21, 2017 - 5:30 pm  to 9:30 pm

Age/Prerequisite: 10 years old+

Certification: New York State Boating Safety Certificate

    Fee: $75/per person. Fee includes all materials; New York State Boating Safety Certificate is $10 extra (paid directly to New York State after the course)

             To register for this or any other SUNY Maritime Course: REGISTER HERE!

 


Safe Powerboat Handling Package – Drivers Education for BoatersTM

 

 

Are you serious about learning how to safely operate a powerboat and improve your on-the-water boat handling skills? If so then these two hands-on, interactive courses taught over two days are for you.  This package combines the eight hour New York State Boating Safety classroom course with the on-the-water US Powerboating Safe Powerboat Handling Course. The topics are covered using a variety of techniques in the classroom and dockside, emphasizing on-the-water practical application of all skills. Sit behind the wheel not behind a screen! No experience necessary!

Is this course right for you? If you were born on or after May 1, 1996, you are required to successfully complete a state approved course and obtain a boating safety certificate (often mistakenly referred to as the New York Boating License) to operate a motorboat. Successfully completing this course also allows boaters between the ages of 10 and 18 to operate a motorboat in New York State without adult supervision and for those over 14 years of age to operate a Personal Watercraft (i.e. Jet Ski, Wave Runner, Sea Doo). Additionally, all persons, regardless of age, must complete a Boating Safety Education Course in order to operate a PWC on NYS waters.

Topics covered include:

Classroom Session - Day 1: New York State Boating Safety Course

  •   Safety, Preparation & Weather
  •   Boats, Motors and Nautical Terminology
  •   Registration & Capacities
  •   Equipment Requirements
  •   Fueling and Ventilation Procedures
  •   Navigation
  •   Rules of the Road
  •   Environmental Protection

On-the-Water Session - Day 2:  US Sailing/US Powerboating Safe Powerboat Handling Course

  •   Pre-trip Checklist and Troubleshooting
  •   Leaving & Returning to a dock or slip
  •   Close-quarters Maneuvering
  •   Anchoring
  •   Person-in-Water Rescue
  •   Emergency Procedures & Rendering Assistance such as towing
  •   High-speed Boat Handling

The National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) has approved this two day course which meets the boating safety certificate requirements in New York and the US Sailing/US Powerboating Safe Powerboat Handling Certification.

Dates:

SPH 1: Saturday & Sunday, April 29 & 30, 2017 SOLD OUT!

SPH 2: Saturday & Sunday, May 13 & 14, 2017

SPH 3: Saturday & Sunday, June 3 & 4, 2017

SPH 4: Saturday & Sunday, September 23 & 24, 2017

Time: 9:00 am to 6:00 pm

Age/Prerequisite: 10 years old+ (we recommend children under 12 be accompanied by a parent)

Certification: New York State Boating Safety Certificate (often mistakenly referred to as the New York Boating or Jet Ski License)

            US Sailing/US Powerboating Safe Powerboat Handling Certification

 Fee: $300 per person

*To receive your State Boating Safety Certificate, an additional $10 must be sent directly to New York State after the course*

To register for this or any other SUNY Maritime Course: REGISTER HERE!

 

Contact Waterfront@sunymaritime.edu to see how easy and cost effective it is to schedule a Safe Powerboat Handling program at your club, marina or community waterfront facility.


Accelerated Safe Powerboat Handling

 

 

This eight hour hands on course is for anyone who wants to learn how to safely operate a powerboat or improve their on-the-water boat handling skills and already has or does not need a State Boating Safety Certificate. The course, taught by a US Powerboating certified instructor, covers safe boat operation, docking, close quarters maneuvering, anchoring, navigation rules & navigation aids, safety equipment, emergency procedures, rendering assistance and a host of other areas. The course emphasizes on-the-water practical application of all skills.

Date: Saturday June 10, 2017

Time: 9:00 am to 6:00 pm

          Age/Prerequisite: 12 years old+

         Certification: US Sailing/US Powerboating Safe Powerboat Handling Certification.

          Fee: $250 per person

To register for this or any other SUNY Maritime Course: REGISTER HERE!

Questions about course content or registration? Contact Brianna Covell Phone: 718-409-2447

Contact Waterfront@sunymaritime.edu to see how easy and cost effective it is to schedule an Accelerated Safe Powerboat Handling program at your facility. 


  Accelerated Safe Powerboat Handling/Safety and Rescue Package

 

 

SUNY Maritime College in partnership with the Long Island Sound Junior Sailing Association is pleased to offer this special two day hands on program package. On April 22, attendees will participate in a US Powerboating Accelerated Safe Powerboat Handling course where they will learn how to safely operate a powerboat and improve their boat handling.  The course, taught by a US Powerboating certified instructor, covers safe boat operation, docking, close quarters maneuvering, anchoring, navigation rules & navigation aids, safety equipment, emergency procedures, rendering assistance and a host of other areas. The course emphasizes on-the-water practical application of all skills.

On Sunday, April 23 attendees will participate in a US Powerboat Safety and Rescue Boat Handling course.  All participants are required to have a State Boating Safety Certificate (if required by your State). The course is will be taught by a team of US Powerboating certified instructors and is ideal for anyone who works with sailors or is interested in taking Level 1 for sailing instruction.

Participants are welcome to sign up for the package or one day!  Depending on your experience and goals, you may only need to take one of these classes.  If you have  specific questions about this package or would like to know which one(s) are suitable for your needs, please feel free to contact waterfront@sunymaritime.edu or call (718) 409-2447. 

Accelerated Safe Powerboat Handling - Saturday, April 22

  • Engine & electrical systems
  • Starting procedures
  • Docking
  • Close-quarters maneuvers
  • Anchoring
  • Steering a range
  • Proceeding to a destination
  • Person in Water Recovery

Safety and Rescue Boat Handling - Sunday, April 23

  • VHF radio communications
  • Boat rescues, incl. capsizes
  • Person in Water rescue
  • Towing: astern & alongside
  • Williamson turn
  • Intercepting & maintaining position with moving vessel
  • Use of bearings & GPS
  • Search pattern

Accelerated Safe Powerboat Handling: Saturday, April 22, 2017

Safety and Rescue Boat Handling: Sunday, April 23, 2017

Times: 9:00 am to 6:00 pm

Age/Prerequisite: 12+ (State Boating Safety Certificate if required by your State)

Potential Certifications: US Sailing/US Powerboating Safe Powerboat Handling

 US Sailing/US Powerboating Safety & Rescue Boat Handling

Package Fee: $350 per person includes all certification materials

Accelerated Safe Powerboat Handling Fee: $250 per person

Safety and Rescue Boat Handling Fee: $250 per person

To register for this or any other SUNY Maritime Course: REGISTER HERE!


Launch Tender Package

(USCG Limited Masters - U.S. Coast Guard Approved):

 

This two day, sixteen hour, hands-on course is for anyone who wants to learn how to safely operate a powerboat, improve their on-the-water boat handling skills and earn a U.S. Coast Guard Limited Operator of Uninspected Passenger Vessels or Master of Self Propelled Vessels engaged in launch tender service upon inland waters (not more than 1/2 nautical mile from shore). This license is designed for those working at yacht clubs, marinas, camps, and community waterfront centers as a launch driver, sailing instructor or camp counselor. This course covers safe boat operation, docking, anchoring, navigation rules & navigation aids, safety equipment, emergency procedures, rendering assistance and a host of other areas. The topics are covered using a variety of techniques in the classroom and dockside, emphasizing on-the-water practical application of all skills.

The United States Coast Guard and National Association of State Boating Law Administrators (NASBLA) have approved this course which also meets the boating safety certificate requirements in New York. Upon successful completion of this course and a 50 question multiple choice written exam, you will receive a SUNY Maritime College certificate which exempts you from the USCG exam when applying for a Limited Masters or Limited OUPV (Launch Tender) License. Course completion or exam certificate allows recipient twelve (12) months to submit USCG License application. You DO NOT have to complete any of the license requirements BEFORE the course. The application, course completion certificate and additional fees must be completed within twelve (12) months AFTER completing the course.

License Requirements: 

 

Limited OUPV

Limited Masters

Description

Operate uninspected passenger vessels/launch (OUPV) carrying no more than six (6) passengers in a limited geographic area

Operate inspected passenger vessel/launch carrying seven (7) passengers or more in a limited geographic area

Age

17 years of age

18 years of age

Sea Time

90 days (4+ hours/day) of self-documented sea time, 90 days in last three years

120 days (4+ hours/day) of self-documented sea time, 90 days in last three years

Application

Application Form and Transportation Worker Identification Card

Application Form and Transportation Worker Identification Card

 

Physical exam including eye exam

Physical exam including eye exam

 

Drug Test

Drug Test

If you do not need the USCG Launch Tender license, we recommend the Safe Powerboat Handling course.

Dates:

LTC 1: Saturday & Sunday, March 4 & 5, 2017 

LTC 2: Saturday & Sunday, April 1 & 2, 2017

LTC 3: Saturday & Sunday, May 6 & 7, 2017 

LTC 4: Saturday & Sunday, June 17 & 18, 2017 

LTC 5: Saturday & Sunday, October 28 & 29, 2017 

Time: 9:00 am to 6:00 pm

Fee: $350/per person ($375/per person if less than two weeks before course), includes:

  • Books and other teaching aides.
  • Books and other teaching aides.
  • Safety equipment
  • Classroom and on-the water instruction
  • US POWERBOATING Safe Boating Certification
  • SUNY Maritime College 16-hour Launch Tender Completion Certificate

Instructor: USCG Licensed Captain

Age/Prerequisite: 17+

Certifications:

  • New York Boating Safety Certificate
  • US Powerboating Safe Boating Certificate
  • SUNY Maritime College 16-hour Launch Tender Certificate

Additional fees paid directly to government agency upon completion of the course:

  • Lifetime State Boating Safety Certifications ($10 for New York State, $50 for Connecticut)
  • Transportation Workers Identification (TWIC) Card ($128)
  • USCG license application fee ($100)

Location:  SUNY Maritime College - 6 Pennyfield Avenue, Throggs Neck - Bronx, NY 10465

Resources:

For additional information about obtaining your USCG Limited Masters License:

USCG National Limited Masters/Limited OUPV Checklist Application Checklist

USCG National Maritime Center Web Site Credential Application Process

To register for this or any other SUNY Maritime Course: REGISTER HERE!


SUNY Maritime College's USCG Launch Tender Course is also offered at:

The Waterfront Center

1 West End Avenue, Oyster Bay - Long Island, NY 11771

The classroom and on-the-water components of this course will be held at The Waterfront Center in Oyster Bay, NY.

For questions or to register for USCG Launch Operators courses at The Waterfront Center contact:

E-mail: info@thewfc.org

Phone: 516-922-SAIL (7245) 

Visit: The Waterfront Center


Landfall Navigation Marine Training Center

151 Harvard Avenue, Stamford, CT 06902

The first day of each class will be held at Landfall Navigation's Marine Training Center in Stamford, CT and the second day will be held on the water at SUNY Maritime College in Throggs Neck (Bronx), NY.

For questions or to register for USCG Launch Operator courses at Landfall Navigation contact:

E-mail: Director

Phone: 203-487-0775 x21

Visit: Landfall Navigation Marine Training Center


Boat Handling Practice Day

 

 

Need a little boat handling practice before the season starts? Sailing instructors want to brush up on your skills before your US Sailing Level I class? Join us for an on-the-water day of hands-on boat handling practice in a center console outboard motor boat (i.e. Boston Whaler 17’with a 70 hp outboard). With a maximum of two students per boat and four students per instructor you will get plenty of practice to meet your goals.

Boat Handling Drills

  • Pre-trip checklist, starting procedures and troubleshooting
  • Close-quarters maneuvers
  • Pivot Turn
  • Docking
  • Holding Position
  • Person In Water Recovery
  • Dick Alsopp’s Infamous Slowest Boat Race Challenge
  • Other skills requested by participants!

*2017 Date and Time to be Announced*

Age/Prerequisite: Basic boat handling, this is not a learn to powerboat class

Certifications: No Certifications offered.

Fee: $225 per person

To register for this or any other SUNY Maritime Course: REGISTER HERE!


Small Engine Workshop

 

 

Would you like to learn how to do small engine repairs and maintenance?  Then this informative, two day workshop is for you!  Join us, Feb. 7th and 8th from 6:30 pm to 8:30pm for an exciting and instructive workshop hosted by Joost van der Wateren of Joost Marine!  No experience or prerequisites.  Joost will show you:

  • Operating principles
  • Fuel systems
  • Ignition and electrical systems
  • Marine engine maintenance

Date: February 7 and 8, 2017

Time: 6:30 pm to 8:30pm

Fee: $30.00

To register for this or any other SUNY Maritime Course: REGISTER HERE!


Private Powerboat Lessons

 

 

Want to learn at your own pace or brush up on your skills? Private lessons with a USCG Licensed US POWERBOATING Instructor on your boat or ours are a great way to build your confidence and focus on the skills most important to you.  We will cater the class to you- whether you would like to practice docking, man overboard drills or want to emphasize safety pre-checks- that is what we will do! 

Date: At your convenience April – September, please confirm date and time BEFORE registering for a Private Lesson 

Time: At your convenience; minimum 3 hours

Age/Prerequisites: 10 years old +

Fee: $450 for 3-hour lesson (up to three people) on our boat; $300 for 3-hour lesson (up to three people) on your boat plus travel expenses; $100 each additional hour 

Prerequisites: None

Contact: Brianna Covell Phone: 718-409-2447


For questions regarding this or any other SUNY Maritime College Waterfront Program,

please contact Waterfront@sunymaritime.edu or call 718.409.2447