Students recognized at annual Maritime event

Wednesday, April 19, 2017


Students recognized at annual Maritime event

In a ceremony that grows every year, 26 students, several clubs and others on campus were recognized at SUNY Maritime’s annual student recognition event.

Students were recognized for their academic excellence, their dedication to their school, and their willingness to help their fellow students.

“The amount of service that we do here and the service you do for the college and your fellow students is incredible,” said Rear Adm. Michael Alfultis, president of the college. “What strikes me about service is that you always gain more than you give. You get things like leadership, teamwork – these soft skills that employers want. You can only get these skills from outside the classroom.”

When the event started 12 years ago, about 10 students were recognized. This year, faculty and staff submitted more than 60 nominations and a committee decided the winners.

Four awards were new this year.

Director of Athletics Kris Schnatz named senior Chris Deddo Privateer of the Year for his academic success; baseball record, including 100 career hits; and his work as president of the Student Government Association and on the College Council.

Deddo in return awarded the “Fort Schuyler Wanna Be Award” to Will Cruz, who works in the café in Fort Schuyler, for his friendly attitude.

“This award is not given to a student or a graduate, but to someone who exudes so much pride in Maritime that you would think he was a graduate,” Deddo said. “Thank you for making every walk to the fort worth it.”

Danielle Camenzuli, the Health Services physician assistant, recognized student Nicole Ling for stepping up to be the unofficial “office manager” and for making sure everyone who comes into the office is made to feel welcome and respected.

Capt. Rick Smith, commandant of the regiment of cadets and master of the training ship, recognized senior Liam Gagliano for his efforts to improve the regimental training.

The students, clubs and staff who were recognized in the ceremony are listed below.


  • Ryan Johanson, building manager of the year and Maritime student of the year
  • Kevin Linares-Ruiz, EOP student of the year
  • Educational Opportunity Program students:
    • Elias Alvarez
    • Brian Chen
    • Kevin Linares-Ruiz
    • Jose Villatoro
    • Nick Spangler
    • Nicholas Cheng
    • Hellary De Los Santos Matos
    • Ethan Sanchez
    • Jason Berdecia
    • Justin Dela Cruz
    • Minju Kim
    • Aidan Pollock
  • Jasmine Ferguson, international student of the year
  • Thomas Altini, Learning Center tutor of the year
  • Chris Deddo, Privateer of the year
  • William Hall, veteran of the year
  • Nicole Ling, Health Services hero of the year
  • Adam Durrua, fourth-class regimental leadership award
  • Hannah Leese, third-class regimental leadership award
  • Cullen Palicka, second-class regimental leadership award
  • Rachel DeFroda, first-class regimental leadership award
  • Liam Gagliano, first-class regimental training award
  • Constansa Terrejon, club president of the year (Culturas Club)
  • Linda McKernan, Dean’s Award for Academic Excellence & Leadership

Other Recognitions:

  • Community service event of the year – St. Baldrick’s fundraiser, organized by Brittany Storr
  • Club of the year – National Society of Black Engineers
  • SGA executive board
  • Maritime Activities and Programs club
  • Eight Bells yearbook
  • Pat Norman – club advisor of the year, Cultural Club
  • Will Cruz of Chartwells, Fort Schuyler Wanna Be award