Foundation Board of Directors

Members of the SUNY Maritime Foundation Board of Directors serve for up to two renewable three-year terms. Board members are distinguished alumni and business executives representing a variety of industries, perspectives and backgrounds. They work with the college administration to strengthen and advocate on behalf of the college.

Board of Directors 


Capt. Robert Johnston ’69, former president and CEO of Overseas Shipholding Group, Inc.


John M. Bree ’78, vice chairman and a retired Executive of Exxon Mobil Corporation 

Richard Angerame ’73, President and CEO of UtiliVisor

William F. Austen ’80, President and CEO of Bemis Company, Inc.

Michael Chalos '70, Partner at K&L Gates

Capt. Ioannis (John) Frangos ’85, ’87, chairman and CEO of Seaways Maritime International 

Joe Maurelli ’63, former President CEO and Chairman of Techmatics, Inc.

Clay Maitland H'07, Managing Partner of International Registries, Inc.

Ex-Officio Directors

Rear Adm. Michael Alfultis, President of SUNY Maritime College

Aimee Bernstein, Vice President of University Relations, SUNY Maritime College

Scott Dieterich, Vice President of Finance and Administration, SUNY Maritime College