Leigh Winfrey

The American Nuclear Society has selected Dr. Leigh Winfrey, Dean of the Maritime College School of Engineering, as the recipient of the 2023 Mary Jane Oestmann Professional Women’s Achievement Award.

Dr. Winfrey was presented the award during the Opening Plenary of the 2023 ANS Winter Conference and Expo in Washington, DC on November 13.

The Mary Jane Oestmann Professional Women’s Achievement Award recognizes outstanding personal dedication and technical achievement by a woman in the fields of nuclear science, engineering, research or education. Dr. Winfrey’s citation reads: “For her outstanding and trailblazing contributions to fusion technology, research and education and her outstanding leadership in the Society.”

Congratulations on this prestigious achievement, Dr. Winfrey!

Leigh Winfrey Award